Sharon Glotzer

Sharon C. Glotzer

Anthony C. Lembke Department Chair of Chemical Engineering


[email protected]

(734) 936-3314


B10-A177 NCRC
2800 Plymouth Road, Ann Arbor, MI 48109-2800

For department business: 
[email protected]

For research inquiries: 
[email protected]

Additional Title(s)

John Werner Cahn Distinguished University Professor of Engineering
Stuart W. Churchill Collegiate Professor of Chemical Engineering

Other Affiliations

Materials Science & Engineering
Macromolecular Science and Engineering
Applied Physics

Research Interests

The ability to manipulate matter at the molecular, nanoparticle, and colloidal level to create “designer” structures; the fundamental principles of how nanoscale systems of building blocks self-assemble; controlling the assembly process to engineer new materials; and more.


PhD, Boston University, in Physics, 1993
BS, University of California, Los Angeles, in Physics, 1987


National Academy of Engineering, elected Member 2019.

2019 Alexander M. Cruickshank Lecturer, Gordon Research Conference on the Physics and Chemistry of Liquids.

2019 Aneesur Rahman Prize for Computational Physics, American Physical Society.

2018 Nanoscale Science and Engineering Forum Award, American Institute of Chemical Engineers.

Materials Research Society, elected Fellow, 2017.

2016 Alpha Chi Sigma Award for Chemical Engineering Research. American Institute of Chemical Engineers.

American Institute of Chemical Engineers, elected Fellow, 2016.

Royal Society of Chemistry, Fellow, 2016.

John W. Cahn Distinguished University Professorship, University of Michigan, 2015.

2014 MRS Medal, Co-recipient with Nicholas Kotov, Materials Research Society. Citation: “For foundational work elucidating processes of nanoparticle self-assembly.”

National Academy of Sciences, elected Member 2014.

American Association for the Advancement of Science, elected Fellow, 2013.

Simons Investigator, named July 2012 to the inaugural class. Funded 2012 – 2022.

American Academy of Arts and Sciences, elected Member 2011.

Stuart W. Churchill Collegiate Professorship, College of Engineering, University of Michigan, 2009.

National Security Science and Engineering Faculty Fellow, Department of Defense, 2009-2014.

Charles M.A. Stine Award, American Institute of Chemical Engineers, Materials Engineering & Sciences Division, 2008.

American Physical Society, elected Fellow 2006.

Monroe-Brown Foundation Research Excellence Award, University of Michigan College of Engineering, 2006.

Horace H. Rackham School of Graduate Studies 2006-2007 Faculty Recognition Award, University of Michigan.