maize texture


Departmental Scholarships

Every winter term chemical engineering sophomores and above can apply for departmental scholarships described below. Applications are distributed through the ChE Undergraduate email group prior to Spring break, with a mid-March deadline.

Helen B. Gibson Scholarship

Through the generosity of her husband, William M. Gibson, a scholarship to commemorate the late Helen B. Gibson will be awarded to an undergraduate student in the University of Michigan Chemical Engineering Department. Both Mr. and Mrs. Gibson attended the University of Missouri at Columbia during the Great Depression and largely financed their own education there. Therefore, evidence by the applicant of working to help finance his or her education will be an important factor in awarding the scholarship.

The Clifton S. Goddin Prize

Through the considerable generosity of one of our alumni, Dr. C.S. Goddin ( of 1937E), we have established an annual prize to honor both our benefactor and a student in chemical engineering. This prize will recognize an undergraduate junior student in the chemical engineering department who has shown exceptional merit, based on qualities of leadership and scholarship. In addition to the Goddin Prize, a number of Goddin Scholarships, described below, are also awarded to Chemical Engineering students.

Clifton S. Goddin Scholarship

In addition to the Goddin Prize, described above, Goddin funds allow us to award a number of Goddin Scholarships to Chemical Engineering students on the basis of strong academics and leadership skills.

Lloyd L. and Barbara B. Kempe Scholarship

Professor Lloyd Kempe, a faculty member in the department for 31 years, was among the very first educators to introduce biochemical and bacteriological science and processes into the chemical engineering undergraduate and graduate curricula. The scholarship fund, established after Professor Kempe’s death in 1994, recognizes and perpetuates his value of independent thought, his high standards, his personal care for all and his value of treating all persons as individuals. It was also meant to encourage study in the biochemical field at the University of Michigan. Students can apply for this scholarship when applying for departmental scholarships listed above.

Criteria for awarding the scholarship:

  • Financial need
  • Recipient must have completed at least half their credit toward graduation
  • Preference is given to a student who is concentrating in the biochemical area
Ian and Frances Patterson Scholarship

This scholarship is given annually to exceptional and worthy students to help them realize their educational goals.

The Maurice J. Sinnott Prize

The Maurice J. Sinnott Prize in Chemical Engineering provides an annual award to at least one chemical engineering senior who exhibits leadership qualities and proven merit. The Sinnott family generously established this award in Dr. Sinnott’s memory. Professor Sinnott (BSE ChE ’38, MSE ’41, ScD ’46) served on the College’s faculty for more than 40 years, including a decade as associate dean for administration and research. The prize will consist of a framed citation and a $2,000 cash award.

Jane and Howard TenBroeck Scholarship

Howard M. TenBroeck received a master’s degree in chemical engineering from Michigan in 1937. He spent his career at Mobil, retiring in 1980. In 1992, nine years after Howard’s death, Jane TenBroeck decided to contribute to the education of future generations of Michigan chemical engineers and set up this scholarship for undergraduates.

James O. Wilkes Scholarship

James O. Wilkes, professor emeritus of chemical engineering, first came to Michigan in 1954 for graduate school. After receiving a master’s degree, he was a faculty member at Cambridge for four years before returning to the University of Michigan in 1960. He retired in 2000 and remained active in service to the department up until his death on December 6, 2020.

The scholarship set up in Professor Wilkes’ honor is for ChE students and is intended to help those who are working.

Criteria for awarding the scholarship:

  • Good academic performance
  • Financial need
  • Extra-curricular activities
  • Demonstrated outside work in order to help pay way through school
G. Brymer Williams Scholarship

G. Brymer Williams was associated with our department for 68 years, longer than anyone else. He was one of the most loved faculty members in our history. Brymer was born in Denver, Colorado where he started studying chemical engineering, but transferred to the University of Michigan in 1935, receiving his BS in 1936. He returned to Ann Arbor in 1947, receiving his PhD in 1949. He joined the faculty in 1949. Brymer passed away September 19, 2003.

Countless alumni remember Brymer’s devoted friendship to students. Upon his retirement in 1984, a substantial scholarship fund was established in his name—the first in our history to be named after a living faculty member. This award is made to selected students who have financial need and a good academic record.

A.H. White Scholarships

These scholarship s honors Professor Alfred Holmes White , who founded the Department of Chemical Engineering in 1898 and served as its chairman until his retirement in 1943. Under his guidance , the department grew to be recognized throughout the world for its outstanding programs in teaching and research in Chemical Engineering. In addition to A.H. White Scholarships awarded based on financial need and merit, the A.H. White Transfer Scholarship is awarded to an outstanding student from another college or university in the State of Michigan who transfers into the College of Engineering at the University of Michigan for continuing studies for a baccalaureate degree in Chemical Engineering. The Transfer Scholarship may be renewed for a second year providing an above-average academic record is achieved during the first year.

Other Scholarship Opportunities

Merit and need-based scholarships are available through the College of Engineering Scholarship Office. Applications are available in 143 Chrysler Center.